Oscar:     Hmmmm.  Hearts and minds.  How do you know that?  No, scratch that, how did you know what I was going to say before I said it?

Soldier:    I got your dossier.

Oscar:     How did you get that?

Soldier:     Let me tell you about how I didn’t get it.  I didn’t get that dossier the way the government got theirs, by sneaking around behind your back to subpoena every record remotely related to you, or by lying to you to get you to testify to a grand jury.  I didn’t subpoena adoption records hoping the agency would turn them over out of fear and intimidation.

Yes, I know you asked how I got them, not how I didn’t get them.  I fought in the War for Independence.  You call it the Revolutionary War.  Does that answer your question?

Oscar:    You fought in the war?  I’m fascinated.  Were you an officer?

Soldier:    I was an enlisted man.  I signed up because I believed in the cause of liberty.

Oscar:    Just about everything I’ve done in the last 10 years is because I believed in the cause of liberty.

Soldier:    Keep in mind, liberty and the rule of law are for all practical purposes two sides of one coin.

Oscar:    We’re on the same page there.

Soldier:    Keeping in mind our one rule, tell me about your law practice?

Oscar:    I’ve represented a number of people with problems arising out of their dealings with the federal government.  I’ve tried a few criminal cases.  I’ve represented a lot of people who got on the “enemies list” of the federal government, or just had questions they couldn’t get an answer to.

Soldier:    On the criminal side, how many federal cases have you tried?

Oscar:    Seven if memory serves.

Soldier:    How many wins?

Oscar:    On jury verdicts, none.  I got a felony dismissed on one case, leaving only misdemeanors.  On another case, US v. Lawrence, the government dismissed the case with prejudice on Friday, May 12, 2006.  Trial was supposed to start the following Monday, but that case just went away.

Soldier:    What reason did the government give for dismissal?

Oscar:     Math errors on 2 out of 6 counts of the indictment..

Soldier:    Did you believe that story?

Oscar:    No.

Soldier:    Why not?

Oscar:    I had a previous case, in 2004, in which the government tried Eddy and Judy Patterson.  After the trial, Eddy fired me but told me to do whatever his wife requested.  Judy asked me to draft an appellate brief in which a principal issue was the Paperwork Reduction Act (the PRA).  Her lawyer read and signed the brief, and filed it with the 10th Circuit.  The government got two extensions of time to file their response brief, and then released Judy from prison in exchange for an agreement to dismiss the appeal.

Soldier:    What’s wrong with letting someone out of prison for dropping their appeal?

Oscar:    There’s nothing inherently wrong with it.  However, in this case the government lied to the court, telling the judge that Judy had given substantial assistance in the investigation or prosecution of some other person.  She didn’t even talk to government agents or lawyers.  She testified to that under oath at my trial just a few days ago.  I see no reason for her to lie about that.  If anything, such a statement would be against her own interest.

Soldier:    That’s four years ago?  What happened next?

To be continued….

